PDA

View Full Version : Has enyone seen a dwarf Gourami get this fat?

CatawbaIslander
03-17-2009, 3:30 PM
:confused:
We are new to Aquaria and have 5 dwarf Gourami's in my 90 gal tank and one of them has gotten REALLY fat. Is this something to worry about?

majortank
03-17-2009, 4:02 PM
I'm not an expert or anything, but I have a dwarf gourami that has been a little chubby at times. He's a bit of a bully around the tank and will eat anything so there's no way around it. I've skipped a couple feedings to try and slim him down and that usually works. What do you feed him?

I'd wait for someone with more knowledge than me to answer your questions though. Just putting in my 2 cents.

BreezeRuehls
03-17-2009, 4:04 PM
Mine are kinda fat too, I just accept it as the norm, not like they are going on modeling shots, so I just let em eat when they are hungry (but I dont overfeed)

McLendon
03-17-2009, 4:23 PM
Hard to tell by the photo's but I would guess you have a female. My girls start to put on size this time of year

Fish-Addict
03-17-2009, 4:33 PM
Hard to tell by the photo's but I would guess you have a female. My girls start to put on size this time of year

Females are dull coloured. That is a male.

Correct?

Hooked Newbie
03-17-2009, 4:37 PM

Correct?

Correct.

Unless the scales look "pine coned", I wouldn't worry at all. How long have you had him? What's your feeding routine?

ct-death
03-17-2009, 5:24 PM
Flake foods tend to make gouramis/bettas bloated IME. I honestly think it's b/c they gulp a LOT of air. I stop feedin the tank for 4-5 days, and it goes away each time.

try feeding non-flake foods, and a fiberuous diet (incase it's constipation)

CatawbaIslander
03-17-2009, 5:59 PM