View Full Version : New aquabid virus?
fishie111
03-12-2010, 8:32 AM
Over the last few days, when I log into Aquabid, I can browse a few listings, but after I click on 2 or 3, my browser is redirected from Aquabid to an unnamed site. The site address is identified only by an IP address, that is one of those, "you've got a virus" deals. My previous experience with these links is that they have been pop-ups- this is my first experience with re-direction.
It is only happening to me from Aquabid- making the Aquabid site completely unusable for me- (probably good for my wallet, but...).
Anyone else having this problem?
Mgamer20o0
03-12-2010, 5:32 PM
havent had this problem. i do have firefox and ad blocker so maybe thats keeping me safe.
vampie
03-12-2010, 5:36 PM
Yep, probably a malicious ad. It wouldn't be the first time this has happened on Aquabid.
fishie111
03-12-2010, 7:52 PM
Ugh. I should add that it is happening to me on two different computers, both with IE. I'll give Firefox a try to see what happens.
FasterShrimpo
03-15-2010, 7:52 PM
Ugh. I should add that it is happening to me on two different computers, both with IE. I'll give Firefox a try to see what happens.
The best addons to get is Ghostery, Web of Trust, No Script and Ad block Plus with the Ad Block plus update. Also you might have malware or spyware on your computer, do a scan.
The Zigman
03-15-2010, 8:20 PM
I like Malware bytes.
it will clean you up.
vampie
03-15-2010, 8:44 PM
The best addons to get is Ghostery, Web of Trust, No Script and Ad block Plus with the Ad Block plus update. Also you might have malware or spyware on your computer, do a scan.
Wasn't Ghostery the one that collected and sold information to an advertising company or something?
But I highly recommend AdBlock Plus, with the frequency of malicious ads and injections these days. I wouldn't browse Aquabid without it.
mbarnett
03-16-2010, 8:06 PM
There are no viruses on AquaBid.com's server. As stated it is probably from a advertising banner which got through Google's censors like the banners on here.