Lost all respect for bigalsonline.com!

macphoto

AC Members
Aug 19, 2005
236
0
0
I was searching for aquarium-related topics on Google this evening when I happened to notice this notice at the bottom of a results page:

In response to a complaint we received under the US Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we have removed 1 result(s) from this page. If you wish, you may read the DMCA complaint that caused the removal(s) at ChillingEffects.org.

There was a link to this page. Curious, I clicked to read the notice.

In a nutshell, the lawyers for bigalsonline.com are complaining that Google is "infringing" on their copyright by displaying the description, page title, and keywords when searches for various aquarium terms were used.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I was under the impression that search engines were WHY you included keywords, description, etc. metatags on a page. I mean, is there any other purpose for a description tag?

But aside from that, does this not seem like one of the absolute dumbest things (on the part of bigalsonline.com) you've ever read? In other words... you're looking for a new filter for your aquarium. You go to google.com and search for "aquarium filters". You are then presented with dozens of results, many of which are aquarium supply retailers, one of which you will very likely end up clicking on and buying from.

WHY would any right-minded internet retailer intentionally seek to exclude themselves from such a powerful way to connect with potential customers?

Of course, I can't believe that a search engine displaying "Aquarium accessories and supplies for aquariums. We supply over 7,000 accessories for your aquarium, from thermometers and nets to hydrometers and fish tank glass cleaners." or some other descriptive blurb (which, most people would agree, is included on pages specifically FOR search engine use) represents copyright infringement. But apparently Google did not want to be bothered by this little nipping chihuahua, so they simply elected to exclude bigalsonline.com from its search results.

--Mike
 
Ummm, maybe I read this wrong but I took it as the opposite of what you just said. I believe that Google is the copyright owner and Big Al's is infringing. I could be wrong but thats how I read it.
Elizabeth :confused:
 
Are you sure its not MSR Communications claiming infringement against BigAl's?

Im still confused though because the words and phrases they are citing are common words in the world of fish and aqariums. Does this mean that any website with those words or phrases is violating copyright laws? What makes this any different from the other websites using those phrases? Maybe someone with a better understanding of the law can explain this better.
 
It looks to me like Big Al's is being accused of copyright infringement by MSR Communications, who complained to the DCMA, and Google was subsequently notified to remove links based on the copyright. Google has complied to remove any possible liability on their part.

If you look at the image of the original DCMA notification, you'll see an partial email of @websitepromotioncanada.com. Check out the corresponding website: http://www.websitepromotioncanada.com/...they offer search engine promotion services. I'd expect they complained on behalf of their own client, who likely owns an aquarium service other than Big Al's, and are trying to limit the business the competition gets through Google.

Alternatively, MSR Communications (websitepromotionscanada.com) could have done previous promotion work for Big Al's and is in dispute over copyright for that work, perhaps due to contractual obligations or accounts past due.
 
Last edited:
Ahhhhh... yes, I see now. In the complaint it lists bigalsonline.com under the "Copyright Infringers Information" heading. Wrongly accused... my mistake. Sorry!

I feel like a moron!

However, it's still amazing that this MRS Communications is claiming that the descriptive blurbs that bigalsonline.com has on its web pages infringes on their copyright.

--Mike
 
AquariaCentral.com