Plantbrain - advice

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

CRfishlover

Serial Lurker
Jan 16, 2002
Castle Rock, Colorado
Plantbrain, or anyone else that can help, I posted a thread before the upgrade that I was in the planning stage for a 75 gallon planted tank. You posted a lengthy response with advice for a CO2 setup the day before the upgrade.

Could you reply again with your recommendations? Know that I am a novice for CO2 setup. So, please explain all the components (regulator, bubble counter, needle valve, tank, reactor) and whether to buy them separate, together, and from where.

Also, some advice on how to start a planted tank (which plants first, add more plants gradually just like stocking fish, etc.) and fertilizers (which ones, frequency, etc.) is welcome.

Here's some (hypothetical) parameters:
- 75 Gallon
- 4x55w CF from AH Supply
- Fluval 404 or Eheim 2026 (not sure yet - is this sufficient or do I need to add a HOB as well?)
- flourite with possibly some sand for looks (what about a layer of peat first? I have read both ways)
- pH of 7.6

Lots of questions, I know, but all advice is welcome. Thanks!

Richer

AC Members
Aug 7, 2002
Edmonton, AB
I'm not Tom Barr, but I think I have some of the answers you are looking for.

For your CO2 system:

All of my parts I bought locally through welding supply shops and specialty valve shops. However, if I remember correctly, you can get a decent double guage CO2 regulator from www.kegworks.com. As for the needle valve, you can try www.floridadriftwood.com. The reactor I believe Tom Barr does sell himself, you can also get it at floridadriftwood. As for the bubble counter, you can get a decent one from www.bigalsonline.com. However, bubble counters are not really nessessary. You don't need a bubble counter to see how much CO2 is in your tank. All you need is a pH tester, a kh tester and this this table .