Utter Plant n00b...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kyohti

Curiouser and Curiouser...
Jan 5, 2007
Northeastern Oklahoma
Hello.

I had a plant years ago in a 20 gallon community tank. It died a miserable death, like many plants I tried to keep in my tanks as a kid, so I stopped keeping live plants and never bothered again.

But since I've been lurking around here and seeing all these beautiful waterscapes, I'm tempted to give live ones a try again. The only tank I have that would support them right now would be my 10-gallon set up (see my sig). I have no interest in growing java moss.

What do you suggest as good beginner plants that don't need a lot of maintenance? Temp stays around 80-84 F, pH is 7.8-8.0, and I couldn't tell you if the water is hard or soft.

Halibass

AC Members
Jan 17, 2007
Southern CA
I'm not a plant expert, but you'll get better help if you let people know what type of lighting, what type of substrate (and depth), and what type of fish you have in the tank.

skeletonhand

Landscaper Extraordinaire
Sep 9, 2006
Lincoln, NE
Java ferns, Anacharis, Anubius nana, and crypts. They are easy to grow and need relatively low light. Should grow well in a 10 gallon, even with 15 watt full spectrum light.

Kyohti

Jan 5, 2007
Northeastern Oklahoma
Lighting: Basic hood setup from Wal-Mart with the fluorescents it came with. Sorry, I don't have any more depthful information than that. It's really bright, though.

Substrate: Its a mixed gravel from one of my aunt's old aquariums... 90% could be described as a fine gravel or a very coarse sand mix. The other 10% is some metallic turqois gravel my cousin dumped in the tank from his little hexagon that was never sorted out of it. Depth of about an inch and a half, I'd say.