newbie upgrading to 20g - a couple of questions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ChuckP

overrun by java moss...
I currently have four platies (male and female sunset dwarf, two female orange dalmatian) and one very small female black molly living in a way-too-small 2.5 gallon tank. They seem less stressed than I do about their living conditions for the moment, despite the overcrowding. I'm managing to keep the chemistry stable with very frequent water changes, and I'm using about 1 tsp of salt per gallon, and the fish seem to appreciate it.

In the next week or so, I'm investing in a 20 gallon setup to give them some more room, allowing me to add another molly or two so the single one has some company, and to salve my conscience. as a certified newbie, I'd like to submit the following questions about my plan for the group:

-the little tank has an undgravel filter system, so no filter media to aid in getting the bacteria going in the new tank. As the new one's cycling, would it help things along if I added some of the old water from the water changes in the old tank to the new one?

-once my livebearers are settled and happy, I was considering adding a few bottom dwellers. I like corys, as they're interesting and don't get very large. However, I understand they're sensitive to salt. Is my current level (1 tsp per gallon) going to be toxic to these guys? if so, is there anything similar to the cory that would tolerate the salt and get along with my current population, or would I be better served to start stepping down the salt level my current fish are used to?

-finally - live plants - I'd like to include some, but haven't been able to find any good information. What types of plants, if any at all, would the experienced among us recommend this newbie, given what I'm considering.

thanks,
-chuck

Ulan

AC Members
Sep 22, 2006
Hi, good luck with your new 20 gallon tank!