Tank setup? - "What" & "how" advice needed

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

nanahachi

AC Members
Mar 25, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
Visit site
I have read and searched for threads on how to set up a new tank for cichlids, and have mostly found answers for types of cichlids to put in the tank, but not what substrate, etc i need to use.

I have a 20 gallon long, that currently only has some plants. It has yet to be cycled, because I was anticipating getting rid of my current substrate. I currently have LFS-bought small grain natural gravel/sand (1.5" deep), with black gravel above it (1.5-2" deep). I was also using an old whisper filter temporarily, but finally received my Filstar XP1 and AC200 from Bigals yesterday.

I realize that my tank is on the small side, so I am limited in my choice of cichlids. I am a pure newb however, and still dont know which ones are suitable for a tank my size. some suggestions were made in this thread.

I also realize that plants may not last long in a cichlid tank if they are of the more destructive/digger breeds...so I'm not married to the plants I currently have in the tank. However, I do have a rather powerful compact flourescent light (dont know the specs off the top of my head), and am worried that having no plants will cause mass algal growth...and i do like the look and presence of live plants.

So i guess I'm hoping to get info on
1) what substrates to use
2) what things/conditions are required for Cichilds, eg crushed coral? high alkalinity? etc
3) what to do about plants

and anything else that would help me set up a tank from scratch or work with what I have now.

here is a pic of my tank. the water level has been raised since the picture, and the plants have been moved around a bit. this was when I had just put them in the gravel upon returning from the LFS...and had not been organized for aesthetics...

thanks so much

Andy16

AC Members