New to hobby - question about Ich.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Rebschan

Registered Member
Mar 24, 2007
Lowell, MA
Well, I am so glad to have found a forum such as this one - I'm new to keeping a tropical tank and I have found some great ideas here for what to do with mine. However, since I am new to all of this I have a question about what I should do with a possible Ich breakout...

My tank is a little over a month old - it's a 25g, live plants, heated to 78/79 degrees. I have 4 zebra danios, 2 dwarf gouramis, 3 tetras (1 flame, 1 serpae, 1 black skirt). Everyone was healthy - I had only one instance of cotton mouth on the black skirt when I first got him, but I used Melafix and got rid of that real fast.

Last weekend I decided to add 3 more danios to increase their school a bit. I unfortunately didn't use a containment tank. When I added them I made sure to limit the ammount of store water that got into my tank .

The new danios were fine for the first two days - then one morning one of the new danios was dead, and I noticed a small white spot on one of the other danio's fin - so pulled both of the remaining new danios out, managed to set up a hospital tank with some supplies from my brother's. (10g, heater, air stone) I added a half dosage of Formalin/malachite green medicine (since they were small I didn't think I should do a full dosage)