Got some LR from LFS and need some input on if it's cured or not?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Batmanjay28

AC Members
Aug 22, 2006
Oregon
I got some LR from the LFS today that was shipped in from a dealer yesterday. I had been sitting in the LFS for 1 day. It has a little smell to it but not that bad, the only way t hat I can smell it is if I get my nose right up to it.....It was a little damp but not in the water....what should I do? Do you think I need to cure it. I know the owner of the LFS I go to pretty well and he told me that it should be fine going right into my tank....he also asked if I had snails for some reason....I'm new to the wholw SW thing so if someone could help that would be great. If someone could tell me how to tell if LR is cured or not that would be awesome...thanks

5xevy

Member #62,749
Jan 3, 2007
Upstate, NY
Hey there. Do you have any fish or inverts yet? If not you can add the rock immediately. Usually uncured rock has an odor, which you said it has a little bit. I may have misunderstood your post- you said it was damp but NOT in the water? So does that mean it's been out of the water at the LFS for a day?

The surefire way to know for sure if it's cured is if the ammonia and nitrite levels are at 0 from the water you put it into (though the tests should not be taken right away). Has your tank cycled yet? How old is it?

Batmanjay28

AC Members
Aug 22, 2006
Oregon
Yes the LR was out of the tank water for a day.

I have one tomato clownfish and 5 hermit crabs, 20lbs of LR already in there, and 50lbs of live sand. The tank has been running for 3 weeks. 55G

Batmanjay28

AC Members
Aug 22, 2006
Oregon