Im a beginner FW.... wut kind of stuff should I use and wut kind of fish?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Blue Chromis

AC Members
Aug 29, 2006
IL
I need help on starting a fw tank... wut kind of stuff should i put in there and wut kind of fish! and wut size of tank?

hitman12131976

Resident Calculus Teacher
Apr 30, 2007
Covina, CA
www.eosclan.com
Remember, don't introduce your fish to a new tank until at least 48 hours have passed with the tank functioning fully with filter and gravel. After that time, buy some "hardy" fish. Ask your LFS which fish are hardy. Buy only about 3 hardy fish to start the bacteria cycle.

NeonJulie

Worlds' Worst Mafia Voter
Nov 13, 2006
Everett, WA
Or you can get started real soon, pick up your tank and decor, get your fishless cycle started, and give yourself the 10-20 days it will take to "complete" the "plumbing" in your fish's home by fishlessly cycling with some ammonia. WHILE you pick out your fish, etc.

I'd browse the fish profiles of some sites, and look at other people's tank galleries, till you find something that really grabs you.

I know most people say always go big, get the largest tank you can afford... do that, but get the largest tank you can handle and maintain. I'm not a 55g person. But I love my 12g! Course the bigger you go, the easier water stability. But in disaster situations, (cracks, leaks) and in general maintenance, it's a lot harder to vac a big tank then one that fits in your bathtub. Probably the best overall size is a 29g. Gives you a lot of good fish options, it's large enough to maintain easily, beautiful amount of viewing space.

If you've never had fish before, I wouldn't go for the tough ones, the very aggressive or very large fish. And you might consider staying clear of problem fish (and I count neons in this group! *lol*)