Another Tank Idea

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

OgreMkV

Father of Earth's Next Emperor
Apr 26, 2007
Port Arthur, TX
ogremkv.wordpress.com
OK, so cichlids are out. Too much trouble with the salts, temperament, and cost. So my wife and I are checking the resources and she sees a tank that she really likes.

It was a 30g tank with two angels and 2 blue spot gouramis.

After some research... she still wants a 46g bowfront, which I believe will be tall enough for full size angels. But my research seems to indicate that non-dwarf gouramis and angelfish are not very compatible.

What do you guys think?

We were thinking 1-3 angels and 5-7 of various gouramis with a few catfish later on.

mellowvision

Seafood Lover
May 17, 2007
Brooklyn NY
www.mellowvision.com
Real Name
Bill Brissette
I have no experience with either, so feel free to ignore my input! :) but from everything I've read, angels seem like a pain in terms of stocking. they are large and many fish like to nibble on them... I would center it around the Goarmis, maybe create an environment that is perfect for them to breed, and get a school of smaller fish to compliment. more little fish is way more entertaining than 2 big fish that don't do much.

Firebelly__girl

AC Members
Apr 29, 2007
They both can tend to be agressive, so I would do either or. I personally, for the 46, i would get 2 angels, a few cory catfish, maybe a few little non-nip tetras? But not sure on what kinda tetras, but the corys and angelfish should be fine =)

dent20

AC Members
Jun 4, 2007
Davenport, IA
They both can tend to be agressive, so I would do either or. I personally, for the 46, i would get 2 angels, a few cory catfish, maybe a few little non-nip tetras? But not sure on what kinda tetras, but the corys and angelfish should be fine =)