why is my anemone not eating

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

counrygirl

AC Members
Feb 12, 2007
my tank has running about 6 months and I have had the anemone for about 3months and now it won't eat and stays closed a lot and when it is open it's not fully open have checked the water and everthing ( nitrates 0,nitries 0,ammonia 0,ph 8.2 ,salinaty 1.21)is good, I have t5's for light's, I have been feeding it shrimp form the store cut very small pieices , at night when the lights are out I look in the tank with a light and it is opened a lot more but can't get it to eat I tryed to feed it and it just pushes it out what should I do :confused:

Subliminal

AC Members
Feb 21, 2007
Princeton, NJ
1.21 is low on the salinity. That's hyposalinity, in fact. I'd try to slowly aise that up to 1.025ish...just not too quickly.

clown-lover

AC Members
May 26, 2007
Fargo, ND
I'm not an anemone expert by any means, but has it changed colors? Also can I ask how are you keeping your nitrates at 0??? I don't think that is related to your problem, but it my answer what I need to do for my own problem.

counrygirl

AC Members
Feb 12, 2007
I will raise the salinity to 1.25 and what else can I feed the anemone I going the the lfs tomorrow and get some silverside will that be good to feed I have read on here and what else can I feed it and yes it seems to be clear sometimes and sometime it is white which it what color it was when I got it I read on here that when they are clear that they are starving ( not sure)that is why I'm trying to feed it and clown-lover I'm not sure what I'm doing right as far nitrates goes that has not been an isue with my main tank now when I qt my fish (for some reason)yes my nitrates and nitrites go up a lot

clown-lover

AC Members
May 26, 2007
Fargo, ND
Here is a good place to read on their nutrition: http://www.wetwebmedia.com/anemonefdgfaqs.htm