New to saltwater...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

-LeG[A]cY-

AC Members
Jul 16, 2007
...and to this forum. So let me introduce myself. My name is Travis, better known as Legacy online.

Now, I have kept a few FW tanks in the past(2 20's and a 30) but that was a few years ago. I'll admit, I didn't run them very well because I just didn't care that much then. But recently I saw some amazing pictures of some reef and FOWLR tanks and it spiked my interest again so I would like to start a saltwater tank that I would actually dedicate time to. I am a complete noob when it comes to this, so bear with me.

I want to start out with either a 30 or 55 FOWLR tank and then eventually make a kind of reef tank. In about a week and a half I will be getting the tank, filter, heater, lighting and some other basic stuff.

Now, like I said I didn't know much about aquariums when I had my fresh water ones, so I need a few basic questions answered. I've researched a little bit but still need some things clarified.

- What exactly does a protein skimmer do and would it be necessary to have one?
- Would it be better to buy cured or uncured live rock?
- As I understand, when the tank cycle is done the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels should be 0. What should salinity(I think that's what it's called) be at?

Also, I don't know a ton about marine fish, but I do know which ones I like. Here's what I like/am considering putting in the tank, opinions would be appreciated:
-Royal Gramma Basslet
-Harlequin Basslet
-Lawnmower Blenny
-Canary Blenny
-Banded Butterfly
-Banghaii Cardinal
-Perc clowns
-Yellow Tail Damsel
-Domino Damsel
-Snowflake eel
-Longnose Hawkfish
-Fuzzy Dwarf Lionfish
-Bicolor Pseudochromis
-Valentini Puffer
-Most Tangs

Inverts:
-Bubble tip anemone
-Crocea clam
-Emerald crab
-Blue/red legged hermits
-Feather Dusters
-Some kind of cleaner shrimp
-Nassarius snails
-Turbo snails