Down & Dirty Shopping Guide for Your First SW Tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Grins

Girl Reefer...we do exist
May 1, 2007
Charlotte, NC
Been answering questions like this so much thought I’d jot down thoughts and perhaps it can turn into a sticky in the Marine Newbie forum here. Please add your thoughts, I’m very new to the hobby myself and this is exactly the kind of list I wish I had when I first went shopping.

Tank:
Many choices exist. Glass or Acrylic? Nano (under 30 gallons) or more? Many will advise to go as large as you can for 2 reasons. One because the water is easier to keep stable and two because it will prevent you needing to upgrade when you decide you want a fish you can’t keep in a smaller tank. My advice is to research what you want to stock and then get the tank that will suit that stocking plan.

Stand
All manner of options available on stands. A stand needs to be level and able to handle the weight of a filled aquarium. I use an average of 10#s per gallon of water to account for the weight of water, any rock and the tank itself. A word of caution is to account for what you’ll want to store in your stand if you are hoping to house things like a sump, skimmer and more in it. All too many times someone realizes their stand won’t house anything but a custom sump or none at all when they had hoped to have one.

Lights