Thinking of getting some Tetras...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

LaRues Lady

AC Members
Aug 8, 2007
Hi everyone! I'm very new to raising fish and have some questions. I am wanting to get Tetras, probably Neons, since they're so beautiful and everything I've read says they're pretty good for beginners. Everything else I've read though confuses me and I was hoping you all could help! I need to know just about everything on how to take care of fish.

I was thinking about getting 6-12 Tetras. I don't know exactly how many together would be just enough or too much, or what size of a tank would be a good fit for them. I don't have too much space; probably room for a 10 gallon tank or so... I know it's hard to get a handle on size vs. water quantity, but estimates would be great! Could 10-12 Tetras be able to live comfortably in a 10 gallon tank?

Another thing to consider is what else should go in the tank. I've read that Tetras like to hide, so would some of the "rock castles" be good or is there something else better for them? And do they like any type of foilage in their tanks?

As far as food goes, I plan on using flakes mostly, but have read they like other things as "treats." What do most Tetras like, what should they avoid, and how often should they be given these things? Also, I've seen these "time released" capsuls of food for Tetras and was wondering if anyone had had any experience with them. I'm away from home at collage and sometimes go home for the weekends and was wondering if this would be good for the fish for two to three days at a time.