Gouramis and Angel Fish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

computerman0219

AC Members
Aug 26, 2007
Hello everyone I am new to this site and I am also new to tropical fish. I have recently had goldfish for about 4 months and decided to get the beautiful tropical fish, so I sold my Goldfish to my local pet shop. Last night I went to PetSmart and bought me 1 Male Fancy Guppy, 1 Female Fancy Guppy, 1 sm Angelfish, 1 Blue Gouramis, 1 (I forget the specific name) Catfish, and 1 Glass Catfish. Everything seems to be ok except, the Gouramis is bullying the Angelfish around. According to PetSmart they would be fine together. So I am asking for some advice on what should I do, or will everything work out. Also the angelfish doesnt move that often and when it does it is to get away from the Gouramis.

Thanks
-Caleb:flamed:

wataugachicken

The Dancing Banana
Jul 14, 2005
Charlotte, NC
Hey computerman! Welcome to AC!

While Angels and Gouramis can sometimes get along, they also might fight, as you have seen with your fish. If the behavior continues, you may have to return one of them, especially if there is a size difference between them. It is unlikely that it will work out.

Can you tell us more about your tank? Having as much information as possible allows us to answer questions more easily and accurately.

What size is it?
Do you have a filter and a heater?
Do you have water-testing kits?
Do you do water changes on the tank? How much and how often?

As far as your other fish -

Guppies do better in groups with one male and two or more females. Since male guppies spend almost all of their time chasing females and trying to mate, having several females allows each one some time to relax and not be bothered by the male. If there is only one female, it is easy for her to get stressed by the constant chasing, and possibly get sick and die from never having time to rest or escape.