PLEASE! HELP MY FISH ARE DYING! :(

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Inamorata

AC Members
Aug 30, 2007
Hi guys.. I'm sorry if Im posting in the wrong place, I wasnt sure wether to post in the newbie section cause Im new to fishkeeping but this is serious.

Right I have a black moor, a normal goldfish, and recently bought 4 zebra danios. I know what youre thinking, I should have bought at least 6 danios, and also, I bought all my fish BEFORE I found out that fish need a lot more space than is commonly understood.

The danios that I bought were from a proper fish shop however 2 of them have died of what I think is a serious bacterial infection. This infection HAS passed on to the goldfish and I'm TERRIFIED incase it has passed onto the black moor whom I love very much.

Here are all the details, please dont shout :p >.< :'(

Bought a new 18 lr tank, new gravel, new filter, filled up, fake plants, left for a week (didnt understand the nitrate cycle at this point) Put 1 baby black moor in there. After 2 weeks, added a normal goldfish, the goldfish started trying to kill the fantail. So I bought a small bowl just for the time being and put the goldfish in there because I didn't want the black moors tail to get ruined.

2 weeks later i saw signs of amonia poisoning (quite inevitable really) in the goldfish. Went out to buy a new 16 lr tank with new filter new everything. fake plants. When I was there I was encouraged to buy 4 danios so I did cause I impulse buy :'(

That night I set the new tank up and put the goldfish in there, who seemed relatively happy, Until I put 2 of the danios (Yea I know thats even worse than 4 :() in with it. It didnt bite them or anything but 24 hours later 1 of the danios died, It hadnt pooed in days, its fins had rotted away and its swimbladder was out of control, it all happened suddenly and was dead within hours.