NO3.... KNO3?...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mudskippers

AC Members
Jun 1, 2007
Tempe, AZ
Alright, so I am very new to understanding all of this "geek" talk that have to do in relation to planted aquariums....

I'm sure I will have many many questions, but for how, this is one...

Ok, so... NO3 is Nitrates.... what is KNO3??
What exactly dose the K stand for??

I was trying to look it up, this is what I believe I found...

KNO3 is ammonium and Nitrates. Correct??

If so.. what do I want to be dosing just NO3? or KNO3?? I hear that a bit of ammonium is good, but dosing it will cause an algae outbreak..

Here is a quote from some website, (WWW.BARRREPORT.COM....)

"If you add NO3 from KNO3, you will not get any algae bloom, if you add even 1/20th of the ammonium you will get a very intense algae bloom."

So, after reading that, I'm confuesed... do I want to only does NO3? OR do I want to does KNO3???

Thanks in advance...
-Jessica

mudskippers

AC Members
Jun 1, 2007
Tempe, AZ
Oh, ok thanks!

So, what is the quote refering to about ammonium?? is there ammonium in K?

This whole thing has got me quite confused... lol...

Sploke

resident boozehound
Staff member
Oct 20, 2005
South Windsor, CT
Real Name
Matt
Potassium is an element...thats all there is, is K in K. Ammonium is NH(4)+, another separate ion. The two don't really have anything to do with each other.

Sploke

resident boozehound
Staff member
Oct 20, 2005
South Windsor, CT
Real Name
Matt