Sick German Blue Ram???

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Inexcess21

Registered Member
Oct 22, 2007
Hello!

I am a newbie and have just started a 20 gallon freshwater tank w/ 3 danios, a barb, a raphael catfish and 4 german blue rams. We thought we had a male and female, but then realized they were both males so bought 2 females to try to pair them off. One female colored up very quickly and her belly got really red and she was hanging around the male a lot, so we thought they were a happy couple. But it has been a few days and she just disappeared and didn't come out even to eat. Now she is laying on the rocks and sort of panting. The male has been poking at her, but she doesn't respond. Is she sick, or maybe just laying eggs??? Her belly seems to be bloated, too. She still has a lot of color, so we are confused. I am reluctant to use any medication, change the water etc. b/c everyone else in the tank seems to be doing fine.

Oh, and all the tests (Ph, amonia, nitrate, nitrite etc.) have come back fine.

Does anybody have any input????

loki993

AC Members
Jun 11, 2007
im sure someone else with a bit more experience will chime in, but ill try and apply my limited experience with them. when you say youre waters fine what do you mean?? what are youre numbers, fine to you may be bad to someone else.