New Salt Tank Setup

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kat17

AC Members
Nov 17, 2007
Fernandina Beach, FL
Hi there, I am new to this forum so please be patient as I may ask some stupid questions. Anyway, I have been a breeder hobbyist of freshwater fish for a long time, and now have just changed over to saltwater. Since it has been about 5 years since my last salt tank, I had a question for you all, so here goes: When can I put my different sand sifters into my newly set up aquarium and what are your recommendations for them? I have a 30 gallon Oceanic Cube with a mix of Live Sand (2 different kinds) and Haitian Live Rock. Please let me know, thanks.

vorlx

yadda yadda
Aug 30, 2007
Broken Arrow, OK
Hi there, I am new to this forum so please be patient as I may ask some stupid questions. Anyway, I have been a breeder hobbyist of freshwater fish for a long time, and now have just changed over to saltwater. Since it has been about 5 years since my last salt tank, I had a question for you all, so here goes: When can I put my different sand sifters into my newly set up aquarium and what are your recommendations for them? I have a 30 gallon Oceanic Cube with a mix of Live Sand (2 different kinds) and Haitian Live Rock. Please let me know, thanks.
They key really is that you have properly cycled the tank. Once you have done that and do the proper research on your chosen sand sifters then you could put them in after this. If they require a more mature tank for whatever reason then you would need to wait. How long has your tank been setup?

Almondsaz

AC Members
May 26, 2007
Vorix hit the nail on the head. Your tank needs to have completed it's cycle first before you add anything. Can you explain your set up in more detail please. YOu have a 30 gallon - what kind of filtration and lighting, what are your current water parameters?