Great Deals

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kasey06

AC Members
Nov 1, 2007
There are some really great deals on equipment right now thanks to the season. I really want to get a marine tank up and going and am thinking about getting it set up this coming january. It'll give me some time to really do my research and make sure I get the right stuff, etc. I won't be putting fish in it for some time until it is truly ready and cycled. I know most people recommend 55 being a decent starting size for a new aquarium. Space really doesn't allow a tank that size. I am thinking about a 25 gallon, fish only. Would these fish do OK in a tank this size?
*Clown
*Bicolor Blenny
*Royal Gamma Basslet
Obviously space is limited. Would these 3 do OK together in a tank this size? Any other suggestions? Better to know no before I start buying equipment. I'd like to have 3-4 fish total. I am very new to this and not quite ready to get going totally but I want to start buying some equipment for when I am ready to go. Any other suggestions on fish/size?? Thanks.

fsn77

AC Moderators
Staff member
Feb 22, 2006
SC
I've seen one each of those three fish together in a 29g without a problem. Whether or not they'll work well in a 25g will depend on the tank's dimensions (I'm not familiar with them for a 25g), but I don't see much of a problem with those three together in a tank of that general size.

Honestly, I would not recommend the typically 55g tank as a good size for a FOWLR or reef tank. The front to back width is so narrow, it can make stacking live rock a real pain. We have a 55g fw tank with rock stacked in it for African cichlids, and I've even found that to be less than desirable. I couldn't imagine trying to stack bulkier live rock in that tank. But, I guess a lot of that is personal preference.

judgemax

I once was lost...
Feb 18, 2005
bellefonte PA
Real Name
Julie Probst