please help me prepare...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Grynox

AC Members
Nov 12, 2007
Although it is somewhat rare, occassionally I am forced to travel for my job. Since I recently started my first aquarium a few months ago, I was hoping it wouldn't happen for awhile.

But it has. I am going to have to be away from my home soon from a Sunday morning until the following Friday night (so like 5 days, give or take). And since I am a complete newbie at this, I don't know how to ensure the health of my aquarium livestock until I get back home.

Currently, all I have in my tank is a Bicolor Blenny, 2 Occ. Clowns, some hermits, and some snails.

I'm obviously not too worried about the hermits or snails...they take care of themselves.

The blenny doesn't take a whole lot of food from me since he sticks to eating algae growth in the tank for the most part. I do supplement with some frozen algae-based foods and nori but I am assuming that he will be fine for a few days without me.

But I feed the clowns 2-3 times per day (usually a diet that varies throughout any given week including Formula 1 flake, and frozen foods like mysis shrimp, brine shrimp, squid, San Fran Bay Marine Cuisine, and San Fran Bay Emerald Entree...they pretty much eat anything I try to give to them). How long can they go without food and remain healthy?

Would anyone recommend any of those slow release vacation feeder things? Or an electronic autofeeder? I guess, I'd just like to know how the longtime pros in this hobby handle being away from their fish and keeping them healthy....because as the date gets closer, I am beginning to freak out about how to properly handle the situation...

:help::help::help::help::help:

kryptic4l

AC Members
May 21, 2007
Antartica
me personally i wouldnt freak out about 5 days... as for the vacation feeders, i call them my girlfriend and my roommate :)

Grynox

AC Members