Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: plant substrate

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Activity
    09-01-2009 3:10 PM
    Posts
    160

    Question plant substrate

    anyone have this in their tank,or used it ? I'm thinking of going with it instead of eco-complete...considerable dollar difference


    http://www.aquariumplants.com/product_p/ss-1.htm





  2. #2



  3. #3
    Charlie Murphy!!!!!!!!!!! charlie4486's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Last Activity
    11-01-2008 8:07 PM
    Posts
    200
    sounds like it gets great review. if you do get it let me know how it goes.
    55g:2-Neon Rainbowfish 2-Gold Dojo Loaches 1-Pink Kissing Gourami

    46g low-tech: Lightly Planted 7-Cardinal Tetras 6-Corydoras Aeneus 1-Corydoras Trilineatus 2-Caridina Japonica 3- German Blue Rams1-Clown Pleco

    30g Planted 6-Black Skirt Tetras 10- Panda Corydoras 8-Celestial Danios

    10g Invert tank 25-Cherry Shrimp (and counting)



  4. #4
    unRegistered abUser jflng's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    -
    Last Activity
    10-04-2014 4:22 PM
    Posts
    310
    I have read (though don't quote me on this) that their base ingredient it Soilmaster Select, and they just tweak the formula.
    You could go with Soilmaster or Turface Pro League. They work well and run about $15+/- for 50lbs.
    Do not put child in bag



  5. #5
    BobsTropicalPlants.com Mgamer20o0's Avatar
    Usergroup
    Moderators
    M.A.N. Community Vendors
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    30,986
    Quote Originally Posted by jflng View Post
    I have read (though don't quote me on this) that their base ingredient it Soilmaster Select, and they just tweak the formula.
    You could go with Soilmaster or Turface Pro League. They work well and run about $15+/- for 50lbs.
    same thing i heard. if you want cheap plant gravel just go with soilmaster select.



  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Activity
    09-01-2009 3:10 PM
    Posts
    160
    the Soilmaster/Turface and the like are all inert(?),so those would be just like regular gravel or sand right ?
    where this stuff has minerals,nutrients,Iron and what ever else in it for plants like Eco-Complete(;minus the bacteria of eco.)
    I was gonna go with eco,but after figuring out how much I'd need for all the tanks



  7. #7
    Snail Terminator loaches r cool's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gahanna, Ohio
    Last Activity
    10-06-2012 12:40 PM
    Posts
    1,830
    The original discussion on TPT about it here:
    plantedtank.net/forums/general-planted-tank-discussion/38768-new-black-substrate-aquariumplants-com
    It does get into a heated debate lol, but some good info and discussion none the less.

    Here are some pics of it compared to Turface:
    http://bharada.com/misc/substrate_comp1.jpg
    http://bharada.com/misc/substrate_comp2.jpg
    Last edited by loaches r cool; 02-17-2008 at 10:20 AM.



  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Activity
    09-01-2009 3:10 PM
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by loaches r cool View Post
    The original discussion on TPT about it here:
    plantedtank.net/forums/general-planted-tank-discussion/38768-new-black-substrate-aquariumplants-com
    It does get into a heated debate lol, but some good info and discussion none the less.

    Here are some pics of it compared to Turface:
    http://bharada.com/misc/substrate_comp1.jpg
    http://bharada.com/misc/substrate_comp2.jpg

    Thanks,that answers alot.

    maybe I'll just put pool filter sand or black sand in the tanks



  9. #9
    Senior Member leocom2000's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Activity
    07-06-2014 9:14 PM
    Posts
    434
    Haha!!! Its identical!!!! Those substrates are identical!!!!!



  10. #10
    Snail Terminator loaches r cool's Avatar
    Usergroup
    AC Members
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gahanna, Ohio
    Last Activity
    10-06-2012 12:40 PM
    Posts
    1,830
    Except for the price... Soilmaster and Turface are much cheaper. But if you cant get them locally, then the AP substrate might be an option.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Plant Substrate
    By david13latham in forum Planted Aquariums
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-09-2008, 12:49 AM
  2. Substrate Advice?
    By trivial104 in forum General Freshwater
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-05-2006, 4:58 PM
  3. plant substrate questions
    By plah831 in forum Planted Aquariums
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 10:20 PM
  4. Substrate replaced and tank rebuilt
    By deocder in forum Planted Aquariums
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11-25-2004, 10:11 PM
  5. Plant Substrate
    By TonyN in forum Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-30-2004, 2:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •