Kribensis! Score!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

lymabean

They're after me lucky charms!
Dec 26, 2007
Long Island, New York
I just got a pair of Kribensis (m,f). Not only that, but they were building a nest in the store so they are breeding pair! I also saw another krib in the lfs, but it might be a male too. would this leads to fights if i got him? Also, do these guys eat shrimps or platy fry? the fry are decent sized, but these guys are cichlids..

Zack Wilson

AC Members
Mar 25, 2007
Minnesota
Congrats on your new fish! They're a pleasure to watch as a family when they have fry. I've had a line of kribs I've been working with for the last 6 or 7 years and I never get tired of looking at them.

There's no guarantee they won't eat the platy fry, though chances are good if they're well fed they'll leave them for now. However, since you got yourself a pair, be warned that kribs are vigilant parents and aren't above doing some real violence to threatening fish. If they do have young, they may very well try killing off any platies, fry or adults. How large is your aquarium? If it's large enough, there may be enough room for the other fish to avoid the family, but I would say anything under 30 gallons is going to be cramped for more than the kribs. I have a breeding pair in a 30 breeder with a bunch of endlers and they do them no harm, but there are probably over 20 of them of various ages, so it's hard for the kribs to concentrate on any one fish and catch them.

lymabean

Dec 26, 2007
Long Island, New York
i have an opaline gourami (3 inches, and wont grow, due to malnutrition with previous owner), and around 10 or so mollies that are adults. I read that they really arent agressive, except for when they breed. i can get rid of some mollies if i have to, any advice? btw, i have a 20g high.

Zack Wilson

AC Members
Mar 25, 2007
Minnesota