10 gallon heavily planted, need ideas...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Intelekt

Noob Aquarist
Mar 12, 2008
San Antonio
So I have an extra 10 gallon sitting in the apartment and I want to get some serious plants growing, Maybe move my 7 neon tetras down to the 10. I am wondering how to really get a good planted tank going, one that is extremely dense eventually.

I guess the idea is that if there are enough plants growing I can start pulling them out of the 10 and moving them into my other 2 tanks, and also hook friends up with extras.

do the planted tanks work like that? consistantly reproduce or grow more?

again im a plant noob, the only live plants i have are 3 water onions? i dont even know, it was a set of bulbs that top fin sells and they are growing in gravel with no nutrients, not sure how smart it is to keep em in there.

any help is appreciated, just want some real natural plants for all my tanks, i have outgrown the plastic stuff very quickly... it looks cheesy to me.

mellowvision

Seafood Lover
May 17, 2007
Brooklyn NY
www.mellowvision.com
Real Name
Bill Brissette
some plants will do what you want. my advice is to keep it low light, low tech, and grow something like sag or java fern that won't need much light. also, the tetras would probably be fine, but you might consider stocking it with something that likes algae instead, may make things simpler... for instance, my cherry barbs arent algae eaters specifically, but love nibbling algae all day long, in addition to their nightly meal.

Yadokari

AC Members
Feb 10, 2008
Want something that grows freakishly fast? Get hornwort, they don't look bad either. They grow incredibly fast with ferts and lights. You'll see changes in growth within a single day.

Preposterous

AC Members
Sep 14, 2007