Suggestions stocking tetras in 20G

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Criada

Registered Member
Apr 19, 2008
Cascadia
My co-worker recently gave me his 20 gallon tank with three black neon tetras, a handful of trumpet snails, and some boglogs. I set up the tank using 6 gallons of the old water from his tank, and let it go for a couple weeks. The fish seemed content, so I added some plants, and just last night, three albino glowlight tetras.

I realize the tetras are happier in big groups, so I might go back and get some more glowlights, but I'd like a variety of tetras, and eventually an algae eater of some sort, ideally an albino bristlenose pleco, which I've heard top out at 4-5 inches. But since I'm new at this, (had a tank when I was a kid, but not since) I'm sticking with tetras for a while.

The glowlights are really small-- an inch long compared to the inch-and-a-half black neons, and I don't know if they grow any bigger. Sometimes one of the black neons will chase one of the little glowlights, but it mostly seems to be only when they get in the way. Overall, the black neons seem happier and more active now that the new fish are there. Before, they were hanging out in a group at the surface, not doing anything, now, they're active and all over the place, poking at the gravel and boglogs.

So my question is, how many tetras can I comfortably have in my 20 gallon tank? (I think it's a 20 gallon high) I'd like to have several small groups of different tetras (say, three each of three species) plus an algae eater, but is it better to stick with one large group of a single variety?

At the fish store, I asked about the gorgeous glass bloodfin tetras, and was told they're delicate, so I should wait a couple months. I'm fine with that, but if I do get some, I want to make sure they're in a happy social group in an appropriately stocked tank.