New to Otocinclus

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

tks4d2

AC Members
Aug 10, 2006
Can any oto owners tell me if they are hardy. After doing a search I've read some stuff on how they are left in horrible conditions at the lfs and end up dying prematurely after purchasing.

J double R

The Devil
Jan 13, 2007
Louisiana
Real Name
Jon
otos are fairly finicky IME. some people can't kill them, others can't keep them alive.

mountain_webste

AC Members
May 2, 2007
B-more
My understanding is that they are significantly weakened during collection and shipping and to expect some die-off initially. They need good water conditions in an established tank. Those that make it through all that and settle into their new home tend to do well for years to come.

Again, this is just my understanding from research and following oto posts on AC. I'm new to oto's too having just gotten my first that are 1 week into QT. FWIW I got 6, lost 1 two days into QT, but the rest seem to be doing fine. Mine were/are little poop machines (significantly more then any other fish I've had) so have been doing 30+% water changes every other day; granted there were lots of diatoms in the QT tank for them to devour so I don't know if this is normal or not.

excuzzzeme

Stroke Survivor '05
No they are not hardy but then again, they are not fragile. They need standard water parameters and temp like any fish prefers. Make sure you buy some algae wafers in case you don't have enough algae for feeding them. Most of them die from starvation, ammonia poisoning, and attacks by unfriendly fish.

They are very good at cleaning up diatoms.

BigAds

Big Fish in a Small Pond
Apr 19, 2008
Madison, WI