new guy!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

themann

-Themann
Sep 10, 2008
new york
hello everyone! I'm 19 and in college, but don't let that fool you into thinking i'm an irresponsible kid, I love my Fish! I just got a black moor named Lenny! I originally named it Oppenheim (like the a-bomb guy) but it took him a while to figure out how to get to his food at the top, so i went with a less genius name... Any way Lenny's doing great. Im a newbie but gettin very into fish! hope you guys can help with my questions.

Also I know now it is way too small of a tank for a black moor as I got the fish for my birthday to bring to school and did no research on the subject. Its one of those little 2.5g tanks that come as a kit. Anyway there is a 10g tank limit here at school so I cant go any bigger than that. I know 10g is pretty much the minimum for these guys, but is there anything i can put in there with it so he can be social? Also until I get a bigger tnak for him I have been using a the gravel vac and constatnly monitoring the pH, doing small water changes as much as possible to keep it clean in there, but not too much because i know thats bad too, I mean I have only had him since august, so he is still a short guy, only a couple inches, I just dont want to stunt his growth Anyways, Any suggestions as to plants and other things i can add to the 10 gallon tank for Lenny? Thanks for any help guys and gals!

-themann

p.s. his tank is on my desk near my bed. I dont mind the light in the tank but im always afraid to turn it off at night so i usually leave it on. Can they see without any lights on? I keep having this fear he will swim right into the wall at full speed and break an eye or somethign horrific.