my brackish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

chefjamesscott

beware the house tiger
May 28, 2008
i figured it was time to start a thread on this tank that i have at home considering the night i had last night with it

i came home last night to find a slow leak in the pipe had caused my roof to fall in by the scat tank so i did a fast turn over into a new tank i had gotten for them

i added my live rock that i had been holding for when i did a sw set up and plan to up the salinity of the water till i get it to 1.021 right now its at about 1.014 just wondering if i should amp it right up to 1.021 or do it gradual here is the old an new tank

old

new

the other ? i have is that after being in the new tank for a few hours the live rock has what looks like marine organisms that are rehydrating since i have zero experience with live rock or sw i thought this to be the best place to come to start into THE DARK SIDE :dive2: time to sink or swim considering the reason why i had to do such a fast turn of the tank

any input appreciated

Pufferpunk

AC Members
Mar 22, 2002
Chicago
www.thepufferforum.com
Real Name
Jeni
Where did this rock come from? Was it completely cured? I'm afraid you have a huge tank crash ahead of you. LR needs a SG of at least 1.018 if not higher or the organisims & bacteria will die off in droves. I would have cured/acclimated it to the lower SG slowly, in a bucket, testing for ammonia/nitrite, before adding to the tank. Be sure to keep a very close eye on the parameters in your tank.

Eventually, those scats will outgrow that tank.

chefjamesscott

beware the house tiger
May 28, 2008
the salinity of the water in the tank is presently 1.014 and the live rock came out of someones 33g sw tank that they shut down about 8-12 months ago