ID this Wrasse?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Ace25

www.centralcoastreefclub. com
Oct 3, 2005
www.centralcoastreefclub.com
Can someone ID this wrasse? It was sold to me as a juvinile China Wrasse (Anampses neoguinaicus) but all google searches for pictures either show this fish in adult coloring, or this is a completely different fish, which is what I am thinking. It is very similar looking to a Christmas Wrasse (Halichoeres ornatissimus) but they had one of those at the LFS as well and you could tell these 2 fish were not quite the same.

Almondsaz

AC Members
May 26, 2007
Ace...I am by no means an expert, but it does look like a China Wrasse to me. It has some of the colorations that at first glance look similar to a marbled-checkerboard wrasse, but the body shape isn't right. I do belive you have a Chine Wrasse, just my opinion. Have looked through my wrasse books and also on-line. Perhaps someone with expertise in wrasse's can chime in.

Beautiful fish! Haven't seen one locally.

TropicalNorth

Bligh..The Demander Of Attention..
Jun 9, 2006
North Queensland, Australia
Correct me if I'm wrong but according to my book Anampses neoguinaicus, shows the half-black half-white colouration up to a size of around 5 inches (juvenile colouration) and then develops a colouration similar to yours over 5 inches.

Looks similar to Halichoeres argus but I'm no expert.

Ace25

Oct 3, 2005