Aqua Clear 110 Power Filter Best filter for the money?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jag1980

Got Plants?
Aug 18, 2008
Marysville, Wa
I Love the power of the Emperor 400's, they circulate my whole tank and keep my tank clean, but it's loud... When I first got them they where not this loud, then after a while for some reason they get louder.. Now it gets so loud I lay in bed with my eyes open trying to sleep thinking WT&...
starting to give me a headache. Not really loud loud, just the sound is annoying... I've been using it for about 6+ years

I got a Fluval 205 and it's 99% completely silent, but there is no power to it at all. I get stale water on the surface and no water circulation at all..

SO I re-installed my EMP-400 and the circulation is great, but it's loud..
I want to buy a new filter.

How quiet is the Aqua Clear 110 Power Filter filter?
Is it much better then the EMP for what I'm looking for in a filter?
I don't want to have to clean a sponge one a week either..

My tank is 29 gallons and I will be upgrading later to a 50 gallon tank later. Heavily planted with shrimp, and fish under 2" and Pressurized Co2

dixienut

AC Members
Jun 15, 2006
Hookstown/Georgetown area pennsylvania
i have one and i use some filter batting under the sponge so that it gets dirty first and i don't have to clean/replace the sponge so much,..just change the filter padding, i use the white stuff not the coarser blue which does nothing much,..
and i replaced this 110 for on my 90g from my mag 350 for the ease of cleaning and its very quiet it is also on there with a peguine 350/bio wheel and its much quieter the the peg. but they are both quieter than my emp, 400

abcdefghi

AC Members
Jun 6, 2007