Basic question about a wet/dry filter

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

boojumsnark25

AC Members
Aug 13, 2006
I am making the switch to saltwater...I will be using a wet/dry filter and a protein skimmer that requires a certain water height (the classic berlin air lift). I'd like to stash the skimmer in the sump part of the wet/dry, but is it possible to mantain a consisten water height in the wet/dry?

Kiel'thalin

AC Members
Jun 12, 2006
You can add a baffle in the return section of the wet/dry, but that will shrink your return section. The smaller the return section the more frequently you will have to add water unless you invest in a ATO (auto-top-off) system of some sorts. Still you might want to look at replacing your wet/dry with another custom sump that you could baffle out yourself.

boojumsnark25

AC Members
Aug 13, 2006
bear with me, I'm a rookie...if the wet dry is running and the water level is 3" above the pump, couldn't I just add water to the sump and the water level would rise? And then I would just have to top it off as the water evaporated?

excuzzzeme

Stroke Survivor '05
That's what I do. I simply top it off as needed. Sometimes I add to the main tank and sometimes I add it to the sump. Either way, you are still adding. I can control how much water to add better by adding at the sump.

Kiel'thalin

AC Members
Jun 12, 2006
bear with me, I'm a rookie...if the wet dry is running and the water level is 3" above the pump, couldn't I just add water to the sump and the water level would rise? And then I would just have to top it off as the water evaporated?
Correct, you can add water anywhere you want, it all ends up raising the level in the wet/dry.