Kribs vs Rams??????

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

KuchDaddy

Hu-Mans, listen to me.
Jan 24, 2007
Vienna, VA
I just set up a 30 gallon long and I am trying to decide how to stock it.

I plan to have:
1) 5 panda cories
2) Some kind of small schooling/dither fish
3) Either a single or pair of either kribs or rams.

Is one more difficult to care for than the other? Also, how difficult is it to find a compatible pair for each? Is it just a matter of getting a male and a female, or would I need to get several and see which one's get along?

Any advice in helping me decide between the two would be helpful.
I have been keeping fish for about 2 years, so I am not a total noob, but I have never kept cichlids.

KarlTh

AC Members
Feb 15, 2008
Hardness tests. Most important indicators of what fish are suitable for your tank.

lucy42083

AC Members
Jan 20, 2008
Wappingers Falls, NY
Asian-farmed rams tend to be weak when kept in higher Gh/Kh water, they tend to do better in softer water. However, I personally have 2 domestically bred rams that have been thriving for nearly a year in my moderately hard water (pH 7.8, gH 12, kH 8....or maybe I have gH and kH mixed up). If you can get good stock, as long as your water isn't super hard, I would go for rams but that's just my preference. Kribs are cool too and a pair would be great in a 30G.

inkyjenn

AC Members
Jun 15, 2008
southern california