Blue CrayFish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jonesy

AC Members
Nov 27, 2002
Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Hi Guys,
I just bought 2 blue crayfish (not sure exactly what species) for an empty 35 gallon tank I have (thought I'd try something different). They're very cool and interesting but I feel as if I'm flying blind here. I've been keeping fish for about 15 years but these are my first crayfish and they have done some unusual things.

So far, one has managed to escape the tank, crawl about 5m across the room and then escape down a large drain pipe in the floor (I'd laugh except I can't figure out how to get the thing back). I know it's still there since something has been eating the shrimp pellets I put down the drain... but I haven't quite figured out how to catch it again (I have a very tight cover now... so crayfish # 2 will not be joining it's friend in the drain). Any ideas on traping a crayfish in a drain pipe?

Anyway, I don't know much about these guys (except that they are escape artists) and haven't been able to find much online.

I have a few questions and would be grateful if someone knew the answers:

1. What do they eat primarily?? I've seen mine eating shrimp pellets but so far it has avoided flake, spirulina, and some sinking pellets I have for my chiclids.... surely they eat other things?

2. Is there anyway to sex a crayfish?

3. What is the lifespan of these things?

4. What kind of tank setup do they like (my tank is half rocks and half gravel). I usually find the crayfish on the gravel side but at night I've noticed it goes onto the rocky side and hangs upside down from a plant??

tomm10

Prodigal Son
Oct 15, 2003
Oxford, MA
www.tomwalkerportraits.com