Fish-in cycle near end, dead fish & sick fish.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

wakingupnow

AC Members
Mar 26, 2009
Nassau, Bahamas.
Real Name
Jessica
Hello. I apologise if this question is rather lenglthy, but hopefully getting the full picture would help you to help me. :)

I'm still pretty new to the aquarium world and I ignorantly bought a 20 gallon long with too many fish that some didn't get along and that will grow out of the tank. Sad, right? I take the total blame, though I thought I asked all the right questions..Boy was I wrong.

The tank is in the last stages of cycling (Ammonia-0, Nitrite-under .25ppm, Nitrate-5mg/L and pH-6.8) and some of the fish were added later on. I do 25% water changes every day, testing for Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate and pH before hand and I use Stress Coat Plus to condition the water. This tank was set up on the 10th of February of this year.

The fish that inhabit my 20g tank now are 6 Tiger Barbs, 1 supposedly Common Pleco, 1 Silver Molly, 1 Marigold Platy and 3 Mystery Snails. I currently have 2 Fancy Guppies in a make-shift tank with a bubbler that I do water changes on every day. This is because my 8 gallon is cycling (fishless) and the Tiger barbs in the 20 gallon ripped their fins to shreds.

Fish that have passed on that once inhabited the 20g tank are: 2 Tiger barbs, 2 Black Lyretail Mollies, 1 Marigold Platy and 1 Mystery snail and I will explain all of their symptoms before their death.