Aggresive female dalmatian molly

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

canadiandrummer

Registered Member
Apr 7, 2009
Saskatoon, Sask. Canada
Hi all...I am new to raising fish and I have a question. I have a 10 gallon tank with 4 guppies and 2 dalmatian mollies. The mollies are a male and a female. I have only had the fish a few days but have noticed that the female molly is sometimes quiet aggressive especially to the male molly.She will almost try to ram him and nip the side of his body. She doesn't seem to bother the other fish that much but I especially notice it at feeding time. I just had my water levels checked today and they are all fine. I had one of the guppies die shortly after I got it home...before I even got it in the tank...so had to get the levels checked as routine by my pet supplier...and all the levels are good. So, I guess I am asking is this normal behaviour for the female? Could she be pregnant? I have done quite a bit of research since I started the hobby and have learned lots and still learning more. But these forums rock! Thanks for any suggestions!

Blueiz

THE TypoQUEEN
Sep 5, 2005
NC
Mollies can be this way. The male may be harrassing her since she is the only female in the tank. Do you have plenty of hiding spots for them?

Fish-Addict

AC Members
Dec 7, 2008
Buckinghamshire, England
Real Name
Sam
What is the size difference between them?
Also, does she have a gravid spot (black spot near the vent which is the fry's eyes) because if so she may be pregnant, and so could be the reason for aggression.

Good luck!

Bethany1979

Going insane, wanna come?
Dec 12, 2008
New Jersey