Huge freshwater tank setup- ideas/styles please

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

dtxlondon

AC Members
May 12, 2009
Dear all,

I'm a complete newbie to this aquarium hobby, but i must setup a very large, tall tropical freshwater aquarium in my new medical clinic. The dimensions will be:

width- 120cm

height- 260cm (1 metre for stand, 1.60 for glass)

depth- 50cm

So its rather tall and thin...i know this is not the usual aquarium orientation.

I've got a proffesional aquarium company building the custon tank...they are going to run all the filter pipes and tubes up one side of the tank and then hide it with coral/decorations.

So if you imagine the decorations will run from one side at the top down and then flows into the middle of the tank at the bottom.

Does anyone have any styling, design tips? I want to create a very 'glowing' fishtank but not too multi-coloured.

Any tips on types of fish, colour schemes, types of decoration would be really helpful.

Thanks

serissime

second-guessing
Nov 24, 2008
do you want a natural looking planted tank? I'm not quite sure what the builders are doing with covering up the filter pipes. Do you know what you are using for filtration? I don't think there should be much tubing running in the tank itself.

janis_aqua

AC Members
May 13, 2009
do it simply

if it's tall and narrow then i don't think you would need to put in so many decorations like plants and rocks. but since it's tall, you can maybe put some neat stuff like a good substrate of loose rocks and driftwood (make sure you weigh it down though). what kind of fishes do you want? it think for your set up, schools would be great and a couple of bigger fishes. they would be the highlight of your tank so no need for too much decor.

Last edited by a moderator:

CichlidWrangler

AC Members
May 10, 2009
WestCoast, USA
im a bit confused...