Infected tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jack Jericho

My room is a small nature preserve
Jun 17, 2009
Seattle-ish
Alright, so I have 10 gallon semi planted tank, Which up until recently housed a couple of inch and half long Fancy GF. One a fantail and the other an oranda. anyways, disease, parasites or chemical contamination killed both of them off, I'm not sure what killed them because I could never match up the symptoms with anything I could find. very sad, little buggers were adorable...
Anyways, I've got plans for my next tank buuut I'm not sure where to go from here. I don't wanna put some fish in this tank and watch them die like my Goldfish. So I guess my real question is how should I proceed? I'm pretty new to this hobby so I'm a little lost. Do I need to somehow disinfect everything in the tank? what about the plants?

It also occurred to me that if I just kept doing water changes as if there were still fish, that would eventually dissipate any chemicals and/or any parasites would die without hosts? possibility?

Like I said, I'm a bit of newbie, help?

Lupin

Registered Member
Sep 21, 2006
Lupin Information Super Highway/Goldfish Informati
thegab.org
Real Name
Paul
:welcome: to AC, Jericho!

I am glad you chose the right site to ask your queries. Feel free to ask away if you have plenty more questions.

Okay, to begin with the process, could you please tell us which treatments you used? What symptoms did you observe in your fish? Firstly, a lot of treatments can create a more potent reaction if combined unnecessarily and incessantly. There are unusual behavioral signs of fish that can be corrected without having to use medicines and such. Water changes for instance can correct the possible red streaks that appear on the fins as the bloody streaks are a sign of ammonia and nitrite intoxication.