not a newbie but a newbie question!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

erk2581

AC Members
Apr 7, 2009
Okay, like the title states, I'm not a newbie, but this question kinda is! I've got quite a few tanks, but now the girlfriend wants one of her own...its just a 10 gallon but she loves it. My question is...HOW can I cycle it at my house (she started college soccer 2-a-days doesnt have time to test water/change water etc) and then transport it to hers? Obviously drain most water out before I take it over to her house...but how much do I need to leave in there so it doesn't mini-cycle when I fill it back up...? Thanks everyone!

swinneyw

AC Members
Feb 1, 2008
take the tank water to the new location in a bucket at least 5 gallons maybe two buckets half full so you won't spill any just my opinion

snoopy65

I am Sam aka Snoopy65
Aug 24, 2008
Where the ducks walk on the fish, PA
The water is not what is cycled, the filter is. As long as you keep the filter media wet and the transport happens within a 24 hour period, you should not have any bacteria die off. If she has a substrate, just leave enough water to keep it wet as well as there is some bacteria in the substrate.

Hope this helps.

erk2581

AC Members
Apr 7, 2009
it does! I love this site! Thanks so much people. Ill get it started for her today and hopefully in 2 weeks or so Ill take it to her house. It's amazing how excited a first time fish keeper gets about their first 10 gallon tank!

AquatiCreations

Registered something or another...
Feb 25, 2008
Yea, as snoopy said the filter is what is cycled, so don't even worry about the tank water, Just leave the media and substrate wet.

erk2581

AC Members
Apr 7, 2009
thanks...i have a healthy 10 gallon in my collection the same filter as on hers...should i put my media into her filter to help start a cycle?

snoopy65

I am Sam aka Snoopy65
Aug 24, 2008