Mysterious Guppy Disease-Kills in 24 hours

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

wakingupnow

AC Members
Mar 26, 2009
Nassau, Bahamas.
Real Name
Jessica
Good day all,

Well, I've been working at a family owned pet shop for about 3 months now, taking care of all of the fish, turtles, newts and frogs.

We don't have a system where all the tanks get the same filtered water. We actually have filters on individual tanks ranging from 20 gallons all the way up to 210 gallons.

However, we get Swordtails, Mollies and both Feeder and Fancy Guppies from someone who has a large pond. All of these fish live in the same exact water, but these Guppies seem to have some unexplained and mysterious illness that I can't seem to figure out what it is. Here are the symptoms.

Males tend to have tail-rot and use their tail very little. Almost as if they shimmy like Mollies. Some females might get a little fin-rot, but usually when they die they look absolutely healthy. Some of the fish will stay close to the top of the water and some lay on the bottom, but are still a bit active for feeding.

I mean the fish will have a beautiful tail in the morning and by late afternoon the tail is half rotted off. It's not nipping because it looks as though the rotted part is rolled up and mucus like.

From the time of noticing any illness what so ever to death is always 24 hours or less. Also, what ever illness this is seems to lay dormant for weeks and pops back up again.

Since I have no clue what this is, I decided to use Jungle Lifeguard on a new group of Male Fancies in a 20 gal by themselves. Since then, only 1 has died, but I'm still crossing my fingers.

Any ideas on what this may be? I'm totally stumped since the Mollies and Platies usually have no problems what so ever and they all come from the same exact water.