lighting issue

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

maverick1320

AC Members
May 29, 2009
I apoligize ahead of time that this might be a long one but i'm at my witts end !!!

I am seriously at my witts end trying to find any information on lighting. The sad part is I am an engineer and I can't make sense of anything related to proper lighting. PC, T5, T5HO, Antics, Halide. what the $&#@( ! It's seriously pointless to try a research this subject because the only way it makes any sense is if you understand it already. We'll if I understood it I wouldn't have to research it ! I am sure I am not the only one out there that feels this way.
As most of you know I switched over to reef about 6 months ago. I currently have a 50gal tank. 36x20x12. When I first set up the tank I was told to go with T5 lights. Because of the tank setup I don't have much room for fixtures being that it's in a wall. I went to my LFS and he sold me a Nova 36in T5 1x65w dual tube bulb. It's been 6 months now and I figured it would be a good time to change the bulb. I tried to research which bulb would be better but then gave up. Now I am wondering if this is even the proper lighting. I've had some weird issues with corals not growing as fast as they used to or not opening as much. Is this the proper light ? Is this simply a fancy PC light ? who knows !!
I have no desire for SPS corals. My current stock includes xenia, suncoral, large flowerpot, blasto, shrooms, torch, bubble, various zoos and hairy shroom.