Please help, I'm new at this

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

themidgen

Registered Member
Nov 26, 2009
Hi,
I just came across this forum looking for advice for my goldfish. I acquired 5 goldfish about 2 months ago. I have been having trouble lately getting my water stable for them. The ammonia levels and PH levels were off the charts to the point my fish were jumping out of the tank. lost 1 this way :( so i am trying to get it under control with water changes every other day and less food but that is not my issue. i have 2 fish problems. One of the bigger one's. Gill, has had major problems, usually after I change something in the tank, his skin is normally blue and white in color but he gets a bright red rash in blotches all over his body and fins, and he swims in one spot all day with clamped fins. it clears up after a few days. but right at this moment, the red has vanished (will probably come back again) but his skin seems to be more white than usual and almost looks like it is chapped, like cracking, and it looks fuzzy. His top fin is also starting to shred? What is wrong with him and why do no other fish in the tank have this? Then there is Squirt who is a small little orange and white guy and he is always very happy but I woke up to him this morning flipping out, swimming in circles and bouncing off tank walls. He is also breathing really heavy and won't eat. He is stressing the other fish out with his behavior. Could he have swallowed a pebble? Is that something he would pass through or is he sick? Any advice would be appreciated as this is my first tank of goldfish. I usually keep easy to maintain fighting fish. Thanks in advance :)

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
help us help you...

Tank size?
Filtration?
Do you have a good liquid test kit?
What are your ammonia, nitrite, nitrate readings?
Same on your tap water...