DIY - LED Lighting using Xmas lights?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

boobiebutt

AC Members
Jul 5, 2008
I was browsing my local department store and I noticed a lot of the Christmas stuff 70-90% off. A lot of various items including Christmas lights for outdoors (50 LED bulb on a long string for 1.99!).

Has anyone ever considered buying multiple strings of LED Christmas lights and them punching them through a plastic sheet or plexiglass so they all aim downwards to use for aquarium lighting? I think it might work considering that these lights are made for outdoor use and can work in snow/rain/sleet, so I don't think water would be a factor. But I'm not sure how one would be able to measure the total watts used to figure out of it would be suited for low/med/high light tank.

I'm a newbie with LED's and how they work so maybe someone with expertise on LED's or electrical things can chime in with some input.

Cory Keeper

LED Guru of Aquaria Central
Aug 7, 2007
5mm and smaller (most common are 5 and 3 mm LEDs) do not have enough power to light a tank properly for plants. Even if you managed to get several hundred, the heat management with LEDs with that type of package don't generally last that long. Don't believe me? go look at Lowe's and their light display, They have one with 5mm LEDs that are really really dim cause they have been on for a long time.

High power LEDs such as the .5w and up can really last longer depending on how well you manage heat. But your still faced with actual penetration of the water. Par will be substandard with anything less than 3w LEDs such as Crees or Luxeon.

CWO4GUNNER

USN/USCG 1974-2004 Weps