pH Drop with Water Change & Gravel Cleaning

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Panda1

Registered Member
Jan 14, 2004
Florida
Visit site
Please Help -- At a loss to understand pH drop after water change
I am a newbie to fish keeping & am experiencing a pH drop when I change (and clean gravel) approximately 20% of my aquarium water. My aquarium has been set up for 4 weeks and is still cycling.

Question: What is causing the drop in pH after water change & gravel cleaning?
Is it contaminates in gravel?
Not adding Seachem Neutral Regulator to make-up water?
Please help as I am at a loss to understand the pH drop.

Please Note: I have reviewed the responses to Candgrrl's pH problem. Article was very informative & I will run out today to buy a KH test kit. The responses address adding baking soda & I was wondering if adding Seachem Neutral Regulator would accomplish the same goal?

My current aquarium water chemistry reading as follows:

pH (before water change) = 6.9 as measured by PinPoint meter & Aquarium Pharmaceuticals liquid test kit
Ammonia = .25 ppm
Nitrite = 1.5 - 2.0 ppm (currently in Nitrite spike of cycling)
General hardness = 143
Water temperature: 78 F
Alkalinity: Unknown – Need to buy test kit

I measured the pH of the new water (with Pinpoint meter & test kit) I added to the aquarium & it measured approximately 7.2. The other readings as follows:

Ammonia = .25 ppm
Nitrite = 0 ppm
General hardness = 143

I treat the make-up water with AmQuel (rate of .5 ml per gallon) + and let stand for 24 hours before adding to aquarium.

After I add the make-up water, within hours the pH drops to 6.2 - 6.3 every time. In approximately three days, the pH slowly returns to 6.9

When I first set-up the aquarium, I added Seachem Neutral Regulator (7.0) to the water. I have not added this product to the make-up water.