New 72 gallon bowfront,FOWLR.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

davexstumpe

AC Members
Mar 8, 2007
so after watching a few of you guys documenting their setup with pictures, i plan on documenting the setup of this tank with pics.(as soon as i get them.)

ok. after searching on craigslist for a few weeks, i finally found a pretty good deal on a 72 gallon bowfront tank.

This is whats included:
Tank, cabinet/stand, glass tops, light, wet/dry filter w/ overflow, 3 pumps, UV sterilizer, a couple heaters, almost full bucket of salt, python, testing kits.

I'm going to pick it all up tomorrow after work.

I've had FW for years but I'm a complete newbie when it come to SW, but i've been doing a lot of research.

What else am i going to need?
On the shopping list right now is:
1) Hydrometer
2) Sand (Do i need to buy live or is it a waste? How much will i need?)
3) Powerhead (What will i need, any suggestions on brands?)
4) Bioballs? The lady threw out the bioballs from her wet/dry filter when she took the tank down.
5) Live rock (I know buying base will save me some $$.How much live rock, base rock should i get? How many pounds of each? Do i have to buy it all right away or can ii buy some to begin with and add more down the road?)

Also. im confused about the wet dry filter. How do these work exactly? How do i set it up? I know it comes with the overflow box that hangs on the back of the tank. Sorry if this is a dumb question. bare with me here i've never used a sump/wetdry or anything similar. Also how do i make sure if the power goes out that either tank doesn't overflow?

Another question. As for the water. What are the problems with using tap water? Is there something i should test for in it to see if it's possible i use it? Or is RO/DI a must?

Also if i'm missing anything please let me know.

Thanks guys.

davexstumpe

AC Members
Mar 8, 2007