Anemone research help quickly

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

racerX

AC Members
Jan 10, 2004
Charlotte, NC
Visit site
Anemone research help

I'm about to go to the LFS and i want to get two clowns and an anemone to host in. I would like to know of a hardy anemone that will be a good beginner anemone and will also not eat my other fish. Or which fish i can't put in with an anemone. A quick response would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Shane

Last edited:

mogurnda

vaguely present
Apr 29, 2003
DC
Visit site
Don't get the anemone. Please. The clowns don't need a host. If you want to try later, after you have more experience, then they will figure it out. Too many anemones die because people think they need one for their clowns and put it into a tank that's not ready. I would have done the same, years ago, and I am so glad I didn't.

harrypotter41

AC Members
Dec 3, 2003
Visit site
I am also a newbie and did what the previous poster said not to do. I bought a Haitian Condy anemone when I bought my 2 clowns. It's been about a month, and I think I have been "lucky." One of the clowns is hosting in the anenome which wasn't likely to happen with this type of anenome by all accounts. That's my 2 cents, maybe only a penny.

racerX

AC Members
Jan 10, 2004
Charlotte, NC
Visit site
went to the lfs and didn't get anything.
they have some clown pairs there that are already hosting.