Seeking live gravel cleaner

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

annekaelber

Registered Member
Nov 8, 2009
Hello!

I'm kinda new to AC -- been reading off and on for a while, but this is my first post. I'm a reasonably experienced aquarium keeper. I've currently got a 120 gallon aquarium, thinly stocked with guppies, "rescued" feeder goldfish and rosy minnows (my housemate is a softy, what can I say?). I've got 2 plecos, 2 albino corys and 2 (used to have 3) kuhli loaches.

The loaches were purchased because my gravel is clean on top (goldfish are pigs!) and I was hoping they would burrow down and help clean up the settled crud. They mostly hide under my driftwood pieces and come out when I feed the tank. I'm concerned I've not read their needs correctly and misunderstood what they would do for the tank. One is missing (presumed dead) and the other two look paler to me than they used to. I've read they like a more carnivorous diet, so I'm hoping to add that tomorrow.

But, that still leaves me with my original desire unfulfilled. What is safe to put in this aquarium to clean the gravel for me? I'm hoping to move the fish to another aquarium soon and fill this tank with Angels and danios. So, it'd be great if the suggested cleaners are safe with these fish as well.

Thanks!

soobie

AC Members
Apr 29, 2007
eastern oregon, USA
Real Name
Sue
The best gravel cleaner is a siphon, like a Python or something similar. Really, you're going to have to do it yourself. No fish are going to eat the accumulated wastes that collect in the gravel.

However, Malaysian trumpet snails are excellent at keeping the substrate aerated and turned over. The population won't get out of hand as long as you don't overfeed the tank.

Last edited:

sed03f

a plant a fish
Jul 23, 2008
Florida
inverthobby.com
Real Name
Sarah