55G planted South American themed planted tank journal

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

cobfreak

AC Members
May 1, 2010
Cumberland, MD
I've been getting help on here in various threads for the 55 gallon tank I've been getting up and running. I've decided now would be a good time to start a journal thread related to the tank and its progress.

This is my first attempt at doing a planted tank from the start, so it's been, and will continue to be, a learning experience.

Setup information:

Tank - standard 55 gallon tank, 48" x 13" x 21", approximately.
Substrate - 80 pounds eco-complete
Filtration - One Penn-Plax Cascade 1000 with spray bar, one Penn-Plax Cascade 750
Heater - Stealth Pro, can't remember the wattage right now
Lighting - DIY light hood made from 2 shop-type lights from Lowes. Overall that's 4 T8 32watt 6500K bulbs. They are very close to the water and provide a good bit of heat; probably too much. I plan on raising the hood in the future.
Stand - unfinished DIY stand, 33" high.

This isn't (yet) an actual biotope of any sort, though that was sort of the plan. I may head more in that direction later, but for now it's just going to be South American fish and whatever plants I put in there. Part of the issue so far is that I was going to stick to South American plants but i've found that I need to get more plants in there ASAP to try to fight some algae issues.

As of this writing the livestock is 8 bleeding heart tetras, three long finned black skirt tetras, and 4 Schwartzi's Cories. Future livestock plans continue to shift around, but right now I think it'll be 1 to 3 angels and 1 to 3 dwarf South American cichlids of a type as yet to be determined.

Right now the planting is pretty random. I'm gradually scaping it, but so far am not very happy with anything. More on plants later.

Here are a couple of shots from early on, around July 12 or 13: