Single Cardinal Tetra has lump @ base of tail - please help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

LarryLauLive

AC Members
Sep 13, 2010
Singapore
Hi!

I'm a newbie here, but can use any help.

I have a 20 Litre planted tank and has 5 cardinal tetras and a breeding population of guppies. I noticed my eldest cardinal tetra has a swelling at the base of the tail about a week ago - it's symmetrically swollen at both sides, and so it looks like the "growth" is deep in the flesh and not on the skin. It was behaving normally.

I have isolated it immediately in a 2 litre planted tank, and has tried AquaPham Quick Remedy 3 (for finrot & Fungus) - no effect. Tried 2 teaspoonfuls of salt also - no effect. The poor tetra has been freaked out ever since being isolated by darting to and fro, and refused to eat. It's getting skinnier everyday (its abdomen is sunken).

I've googled pretty much on the possibilities, and it does not look like anything they have on pic or descriptions, except maybe a tumor. If it is indeed a tumor, then I will release it back into the main tank so that it will (hopefully) eat again.

I'm attaching a pic - please let me know if you have seen something similar? Thanks in advance.

mel_20_20

AC Members
Sep 1, 2008
Deep in the heart of texas
Hi, LLL. I'm so sorry your fish is having this problem. This could be a tumor, as you suggest, or it could be a bacterial infection. I have not, personally, had anything like this in any of my fish.

I did have a photo in my files that is somewhat... well maybe a little bit... similar that I will upload. It's hard to see the area well in your photo, and the red color of the Cardinal precludes easily seeing any redness in the area that might indicate infection.

Perhaps your own eye can see if the photo I provide here looks anything like your Cardinal's problem area.

Fish scales raised bacterial infection JBL online.jpg