hey i am new too rift lake cichlids

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Krib

AC Members
Sep 9, 2006
i am not new too keeping fish, just new to the rift african lake ones. so here is the story, i am now boared with my current fiffty five gallon set up and would like to do somthing i have never done before. that would be set up a rift lake type setup.
So just a few questions about my new project, i know most of the decor will be in rocks, i need to know what types work best. I also know that i would like some green, and would anabis work for this. And i also know that i might put in some wood, is this at all ok or would it ruin the aquarium set up.
Next on that list is what type of fish would you recomend for a begging Rift lake setup, and how many fish might i be able to stock my fiffty five gallon with.
And yet another next, i know sand is used most of the time in these types of set ups, what type of sand is best and would calcium gravel work (like the type sold for saltwatwer)
Thanks for the advice

shaynablizard

AC Members
Sep 9, 2008
US
Real Name
Shayna
I LOVE Tanganyikan cichlids. I would suggest a school of cyprichromis for the main body of the tank, and pick a julidochromis you like (marlieri burundi is my fav), and then get some shell dwellers for the middle bottom where you can put a lot of shells. Brevis or Occellatus are good shellies for a tank like this. I could go on all day about different options, but I think that would be a great start. They're so fascinating. I use plain white pool filter sand, drift wood, and lace rock mainly. Plus any limestone I come across that I like. For plants, hygro polysperma works well. You can see the layout of one of my tanganyikan tanks in this vid of mine, to get an idea of a good way to set up a tank that keeps them happy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPQGVYPl7nghttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPQGVYPl7ng

jpappy789